2016 Conference

The conference 2016 conference was a roaring success!

Thanks to all who participated!

Below are a few photos from the day of the event and here’s a link to download the “Thinking Outside the Book” powerpoint presentation given by Tinna Mills. See you next year!

 

 

For real time updates join the event on the ECLA Facebook Page, or follow our conference hashtag “#eclaconf2016” on Twitter.


** Registration CLOSED **

Logistics

Date: September 17, 2016

Location: College Church Commons in Wheaton, Illinois.

  • Address: 332 E. Seminary Avenue, Wheaton, Illinois.
  • Phone: 630-951-6272 (event days only).

Travel Assistance:


Registration

Registration Fees:

  • $55 Individual conference fee which includes annual membership
  • $55 Church conference fee which also includes membership and conference attendance for one person: under a church membership, persons two and three will pay $45 each, and any others from the church need to pay $55

Registration Process:

Download and print the 2016 conference brochure and registration application (PDF). Please fill this out and mail, with a check or money order (payable to ECLA), to ECLA Conference, P.O. Box 353, Glen Elyn, IL 60138-0353.

  • Member Discount: If you are an ECLA member, you may bring two other people from your church or school for the member price each.
  • Non-Members: If you wish to join ECLA, you may pay the member rate and include the yearly $20 membership fee. You must submit the membership fee with your conference registration to receive the member discount.

You may also pay your registration fees online by credit card or PayPal, using our secure PayPal shopping cart. If paying online, you may download and print the conference brochure, fill it out, scan, and email to membership@eclalibraries.org instead of mailing in the form. Please submit one registration form per person.

Conference Item PayPal Cart
Conference Fee (includes individual or church membership) Price $55.00PayPal Add to Cart: 2014 Conference Saturday Non-Members
Additional Church member conference fee Price $45.00PayPal Add to Cart: 2014 Conference Saturday Members
PayPal Cart Total: 2014 Conference


Keynote Speaker

Lynn Austin is the author of many Christian fiction novels and holds the record for the most Christy Awards won: eight. One of her books, Hidden Places was turned into a Hallmark Channel movie. As well, Lynn has written non-fiction, Pilgrimage: My Journey to a Deeper Faith in the Land Where Jesus Walked. She has often presented at the ECLA Conference and is a perennial favorite of the attendees.

Austin_Lynn1

Keynote Address: “Equipped and Equipping”
Church librarians are the quartermasters for God’s Army, equipping the Body of Christ for the work He has given us. Sometimes the job seems too big, the resources too few, our labors in vain. Let the stories of three churches and three libraries encourage and “equip you with everything good for doing His will” (Hebrews 13:21).

Prescription for a Discouraged Librarian – By Lynn Austin


Conference Schedule

Check back often…more events to be added.

Saturday, September 17th

(7:45 a.m.) Registration

(8:15 a.m.) Opening General Session

(8:30 a.m.) Workshops & Seminars

Readalikes for Children — Becky Barnes

Do you find it hard to stay on top of new children’s and young adult books for your library? Do you see children reading non-Christian books at church and know there must be something similar with a redemptive plot? Have you or a young person in your life read a book that you absolutely love? Join us for a discussion on great new (and maybe not-so-new) additions for the younger patrons of your library. We will also brainstorm read-alikes of some popular secular titles. Come ready with ideas!

Thinking Outside the Book: Innovative Strategies for Encouraging Intellectual Growth in Your Congregation — Tinna Mills

Have you ever wondered how to engage non-readers in solid Biblical teaching? How about those with reading disabilities or visual impairments? What about those who might read, if only books were made more readily accessible to them? If so, join me and start thinking outside the book about unique ways to serve your church community. Tinna Mills is an ECLA board member with a masters in library science. She currently works in a public library.

Sci-fi and Fantasy — Afton Rorvik

Christian readers and parents long to find well-written books free of sex, violence, and vampires but full of imagination. Come and learn about a line of science fiction and fantasy books that provides good, clean escape to another world of spaceships and epic battles, all shaped by the belief that God wins the ultimate battle.

A list of Sci-fi Fiction books Afton reccommends

(9:30 a.m.) Break

(9:45 a.m.) Keynote: Lynn Austin

See Keynote description above.

(11:00 p.m.) Author Luncheon

Lynn Austin, Dennis Hensley, Julie Allyson, Ieron, Travis Thrasher, Afton Rorvik, Margaret Philbrick, Miriam Neff and more!

Join local authors at lunch, hear them talk about their writing, browse their books, and buy autographed copies.

(11:30 a.m.) SHOP, SWAP or DROP IN!

Drop in with Mary: Cataloging Queries

Do you have questions about how to catalog or process your books, DVDs, audiobooks, CDs, kits, or any other object you want to loan out? Are you debating about going with a library software company to help automate your library? Are you wondering what call number to put on the spine label? Stop by and get practical answers to your questions.

Drop in with Ceil: Mentoring Questions

Interested in being a mentor? Would you like to have a mentor for setting up a new library or a special library project or need? This is the spot to have your questions answered about the ECLA mentoring program including signing up to mentor or to be mentored.

DVD Streaming: Church Library Month

(1:00 p.m.) Workshops

Christian Fiction (Part 1) — Chris Jager

What new fiction has Chris read this past year? Come find out what are the must-have titles for your library shelves. Chris has over eighteen years of experience in the fiction world as the fiction buyer for the Baker Book House, the bookstore arm of Baker PublishingGroup. She loves sharing her love of fiction with ECLA conference attendees so much that each year she schedules her vacations around it. Check out her blog before the conference even starts!

List of Books Chris Reccommends

18 Points for Contemporary Writing — Dennis Hensley

In this session, using both comedy and wise insight, Doc Hensley will explain how to write in a modern way so that people who read blogs, use Ipods, live on email, and love online communication can enjoy your writings.  These 18 tips are easy to learn and put to use immediately in greatly enhancing your writing skills.

(2:00 p.m.) Break

(2:15 p.m.) Workshops

Christian Fiction (Part 2) — Chris Jager

What new fiction has Chris read this past year? Come find out what are the must-have titles for your library shelves. Chris has over eighteen years of experience in the fiction world as the fiction buyer for the Baker Book House, the bookstore arm of Baker PublishingGroup. She loves sharing her love of fiction with ECLA conference attendees so much that each year she schedules her vacations around it. Check out her blog before the conference even starts!

The Relevancy of Church Libraries: Panel Discussion — Ceil Carey, Carol Carlton, Shari Potter, Cathy Askeland (Moderator), Miriam Neff and Natalie Totire, and Allie Pleiter

Are church libraries relevant? Is your church library relevant only because it exists?  Is it relevant only because you have books?   How can your library become a relevant resource for your church?  In this interactive session the panelists will share their experiences and tips to keep your library equipped and relevant for your patrons.

Relevancy summary document

(3:15 p.m.) Break

(3:30 p.m.) BOOK GIVEAWAY!

(4:00p.m.) Bookswap and Bookstore!

%d bloggers like this: