Courting mr. emerson

Reviewed by: Olivia Mitchem, Professional Writing alumnus from Taylor University, Upland, IN.

Title:

Courting mr.

Author:

Melody Carlson

Publisher:

Revell

Date:

March 5, 2019

Format:

Print book

Length:

352 pages

OVERVIEW:

What happens when former high school classmates, now in their mid-fifties, meet in unusual circumstances? Melody Carson dives into that question and answers how most Christian Romance authors do – a second chance at love and life, with snippets of their past showing through along the way. Mr. Emerson is a neat, tidy, almost-retired English teacher finishing out his last year at the high school he graduated from – Willow West is the grandmother of one of his favorite students. When she comes to ask for a recommendation letter for her grandson, something starts to bloom between them… or at least Willow thinks so. She sets out, determined to convince Emerson to open up… but will it be too late when he finally does?

ASSESSMENT

Rating (1 to 5):

2

Suggested Audience:

Fans of Christian Fiction, Christian Romance, and Amish Romances

Christian Impact:

This book potentially gives insight into the mindsets of older women and men as they consider second or third romances later in life.

Other Notes:

As with the majority of Christian Fiction and Romance, this book lacks the well-written polish of non-Christian writers – I recommend reading it for the story, and not the writing style.

About Cecelia Carey

The Evangelical Church Library Association, founded in 1970, is a fellowship of Christian churches, schools, and individuals.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: